To Whoever Prayed for Me

According to St. Faustina, the Polish nun who received the revelation of the Divine Mercy, Jesus told her, “The prayer most pleasing to Me is prayer for the conversion of sinners. Know, My daughter, that this prayer is always heard and answered.

 

So I’d like to take this opportunity to thank whoever it was that obtained for me the grace of conversion. Twelve years ago I was an Evangelical Protestant with no interest whatsoever in the Catholic Church. I was nudged into checking out the Catholic belief system simply because I couldn’t answer a 6th-grader’s questions about Catholicism to my satisfaction. When I investigated the doctrine of the Real Presence of Jesus in the Holy Eucharist, the suddenness of my conversion rivaled that of spontaneous combustion; I read through John 6 just to see where the Catholic Church had gone wrong, and kaboom!! – my doctrinal system exploded. My only explanation for this is that someone, somewhere, had prayed for the conversion of poor sinners, and the grace that they obtained trickled down to me.

 

This time of year as I prepare to celebrate the anniversary of my reconciliation with the Church, I always find myself thinking about this. So – thank you, whoever you are, for praying for me, even if you didn’t know me, even if you’ve never met me. I hope to thank you in person someday. Till then, I will be praying for you.

 

On Holy Thursday

 

Deo omnis gloria!

1 comment
  1. Gina Nakagawa said:

    God bless you for your beautiful and most generous thoughts. May your Easter be full of God’s blessings poured upon you anew.

Leave a comment