Because of You

This post is part of the First Friday link-up at Catholic Cravings.

I don’t listen to the radio much anymore, so it was in the chair at the dentist’s office where I first heard this song. I was waiting for my x-rays to be developed; I could hear the lyrics quite clearly in that quiet room. A woman’s voice sings plaintively:


Because of you

I never stray too far from the sidewalk

Because of you

I learned to play on the safe side so I don’t get hurt

Because of you

I find it hard to trust not only me, but everyone around me

Because of you

I am afraid

I later learned that this song was the singer’s reaction to her father’s rejection of the family years earlier. It’s hard to put that kind of thing behind you. It haunts you, as the song haunted me. If Wikipedia is to be believed, “Because of You” went platinum and topped the charts in several European countries – evidence that it resonated not only with American listeners. What a fitting anthem for our generation of broken homes and disposable vows.

 

My heart can’t possibly break

When it wasn’t even whole to start with….

 

Then one day, I heard another song. That song, too, was sung by a young woman, and that song too contained that poignant attribution: “because of you.” Yet, to my surprise, it was different. It wasn’t actually “because of you” – it was “because of You” – and that capitalization made all the difference in the world:


 

For love of You, I’m a sky on fire

Because of You, I come alive

For love of You, I’m a sky on fire

Because of You, I come alive

It’s Your Sacred Heart within me beating

Your voice within me singing out

For love of You, oh, for love of You

Oh, so, for love of You, God

That song also haunts me. It points us to the remedy – the only remedy – to the fear and pain suffered by generations of offspring of the macabre “me-first” experiment. It is His Sacred Heart within us beating that is the answer to the anguish we have endured; It is the courage to trust and to love. Real love flows first from His Heart to ours. It is His Heart now that beats within us and His life that we lead, and we are not afraid – far from it. Christ’s body is a sky on fire, a sign to the world, because we are not limited to the modern-day ballad of betrayal. Within us beats the Heart that is our Peace.

 

Because of You….

 

 

On the memorial of St. Isidore of Seville

 

Deo omnis gloria!

2 comments
  1. Gina Nakagawa said:

    What a beautiful birthday present. Thank you, my friend.

    • Happy, happy, happy birthday, Gina! Today or yesterday?

Leave a Reply

